Faculty & Staff


Headmaster
Dr. Liz Norman




Dr. Liz Norman

Headmaster

Teaching at Hooper since: 2017

Colleges/Universities Attended:

Degree(s) Held: B.A. English minor French, M.A. English Education, Nationally Board Certified in English Language Arts, Doctorate in Educational Leadership, Policy and Law.

email. lnorman@hooperacademy.org


Mr. Tom Pinkston
Assistant Headmeaster/Athletic Director
Teaching at Hooper since: 2017
Colleges/Universities Attended: Auburn University
Degree(s) Held:

Extracurricular Activities: Head Football Coach
email: tpinkston@hooperacademy.org

Ms. Toni Kilpatrick
Guidance Counselor
Teaching at Hooper since: 2012
Colleges/Universities Attended: Lurleen B. Wallace Community College, Auburn Montgomery, NSU, Troy University, University of West Alabama
Degree(s) Held: AA- Education, BS-Elementary Education, MS Education, MEd School Counseling, EdS School Counseling
Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: Webmaster, Sr. Class Sponsor, Dual Enrollment Coordinator, College/Career Counselor
email: tkilpatrick@hooperacademy.org


Elementary Faculty

K-5
Mrs. Lindsey Bozeman
Teaching Assignment: 4th Grade
Teaching at Hooper since: 2015
Colleges/Universities Attended: Auburn Montgomery
Degree(s) Held: BS Childhood Education
email: lbozeman@hooperacademy.org

1st Grade   
Mrs. Deborah B. Moncrief
Teaching Assignment: 1st Grade
Teaching at Hooper since: 1987
Colleges/Universities Attended: Huntingdon College, Troy State University
Degree(s) Held: BS Elementary Education, MS Early Childhood Education
Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: Diamond Dolls Sponsor
email: dbmoncrief@hooperacademy.org

2nd Grade  
Miss Lauren Meredith
Teaching Assignment: 2nd
Teaching at Hooper since: 2014
Colleges/Universities Attended: Auburn University
Degree(s) Held: BS Early Childhood Education
Extracurricular Activities/Responsibilities: JV Cheer Coach
email: lmeredith@hooperacademy.org

3rd Grade  
Mrs. Linda Richardson
Teaching Assignment: 3rd Grade
Teaching at Hooper since: 1995
Colleges/Universities Attended: Auburn University Montgomery
Degree(s) Held: BS Elementary Education
Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: District Science Fair
email: lrichardson@hooperacademy.org

4th Grade

5th Grade/6th Grade

5th Grade/6th Grade



High School Faculty

Mrs. Candice Duffey
Teaching Assignment: Computer, Yearbook, Fine Arts, Performing Arts
Teaching at Hooper since: 2018
Colleges/Universities Attended: Huntingdon College, University of Phoenix
Degree(s) Held: BS Secondary Education (English), BA Psychology, MA Secondary Education
Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: Jr. Class Sponsor, Performing Arts Club

Mrs. Jessi Hayes
Teaching Assignment: 7th Grade History, 8th/9th/11th/12th Science, 8th Grade Enrichment
Teaching at Hooper since: 2015
Colleges/Universities Attended: Huntingdon College
Degree(s) Held: BA Physical Education
Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: Asst JV Girls Basketball
email: jhayes@hooperacademy.org

Mr. John Johnson
Teaching Assignment: Physics, Biology
Teaching at Hooper since: 2017
Colleges/Universities Attended: University of West Alabama, UAB
Degree(s) Held: AB, Science, MEd Admin & Supervision, Chemistry, Biology
email: jjohnson1@hooperacademy.org

Miss Elyse McIntyre

Teaching Assignment: Biology, Chemistry, Anatomy

Teaching at Hooper since: 2014

Colleges/Universities Attended: Judson College, Auburn University Montgomery

Degree(s) Held: BS Science. MS Secondary Education

Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: JV Girls Basketball, Softball

email: emcintyre@hooperacademy.org

Mrs. Renee Nelson
Teaching Assignment: 7th, 8th, 9th English
Teaching at Hooper since: 1998
Colleges/Universities Attended: Troy University, Alabama State University
Degree(s) Held: BS English/History, MS English Education
email: rnelson@hooperacademy.org

Mr. Buzz Phillips
Teaching Assignment: 8th & 9th Grade History, Street Law, MS/HS PE
Teaching at Hooper since: 2018
Colleges/Universities Attended: Troy University
Degree(s) Held: BS
Extracurricular Activities: Assistant Boys Basketball, JV Boys Basketball
email: bphillips@hooperacademy.org

Mr. James Maury Popwell
Teaching Assignment: Sr. Social Studies
Teaching at Hooper since: 2004
Colleges/Universities Attended: Central Al. Community College, Huntingdon College, Troy University
Degree(s) Held: BS in Social Studies, minor in PE, Masters in Administration and Supervision
email: mpopwell@hooperacademy.org

Mrs. Laura Simmons
Teaching Assignment: Elementary Music, Spanish I & II, Pre-Algebra, Enrichment
Teaching at Hooper since: 2015
Colleges/Universities Attended: Baylor University
Degree(s) Held: BA Communications Specialist and English
Extra Curricular Activities/Duties: Spanish Club
email: lsimmons@hooperacademy.org

Miss Elaine Smith
Teaching Assignment: Library
Teaching at Hooper since: 1974
Colleges/Universities Attended: Troy State University, Auburn, Auburn Montgomery
Degree(s) Held: BS Education (History, English), M.Ed. History, Certification Educational Media
email: esmith@hooperacademy.org

Mr. Rick Yates
Teaching Assignment: Health, MS/HS PE
Teaching at Hooper since: 2018
Colleges/Universities Attended: George Wallace Community College, Auburn University
Degree(s) Held: BS in Education
Extracurricular Activities: Faculty Soccer Rep
email: ryates@hooperacademy.org

Staff

Accounts Receivable
Mrs. Rachael Jones

Bookkeeper/Registrar
Mrs. Judy Reeves

Lunchroom Manager
Selena Guest

Lunchroom Staff
Jane Walker
Katrina Sansom